Great idea in search of a technical co-founder

I just had lunch with an entrepreneur who has an idea he believes in and is passionate about.  He’s also got a great deal of inside knowledge for the industry he’s targeting and great connections to investors of various flavors.  He’s put a lot of thought in to the market and the opportunity.

He just needs a technical co-founder to help him build a platform, make technical decisions and start building a technical team.

I really enjoyed talking to him about the business he wants to go in to.  I gave him some advice from my personal experience and tried to give him advice on next steps to take.  Here are the first steps I gave him:

Also, I promised him I’d help him find someone so that’s why I’m writing this!  If you’re interested in learning more about it just stalk me on my AboutMe profile.

Published in: on January 18, 2011 at 09:00  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://andrewmoorewatson.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/great-idea-in-search-of-a-technical-co-founder/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Andrew,

    As founder of StartupChicks, I am asked this question EVERY week. How do I find a technical co-founder?

    My response is typically….

    Do NOT expect to find your technical co-founder at a startup event. If they are at a startup event they are already in a startup OR have ideas that they wish to pursue, and your idea will NEVER be #1 for them…

    INSTEAD…

    – they need to go to the technology meetups (Ruby, PHP, .NET), etc. And hope to network & find someone there.
    – they need to reach into their own personal network and ask friends for friends of friends that might have the tech experience.
    – go to StartAtlanta. Not necessarily to pitch their idea, but, to build relationships with people that might be a good fit.

    Just my 2 cents….

    Jen

    • That’s a great point, Jen. I hadn’t thought about suggesting the tech meetups.


Leave a Reply

